Galdragildi self initiation rite

 

3 months now I have been an apprentice of the Galragildi. I was taken on by the former gildmaster Gandvaldr after conversing with him for several weeks. I have been studying the runes since then, and increasing my capacity for literature by reading the sagas, the poetry, Germanic history, and articles on the way our ancestors lived. It has taken until now for the right time, that I felt I must perform my self initiation rite. I had lived in the metropolis of Montreal when joining the gild, and did not feel the environment around me provided for the right setting. Now I have been living in the forest for over a month, and am becoming more attuned to the traditions of the land. Before I actually did my ritual, I spent a lot of time getting in touch with the land, practicing survival skills, identifying plants and birds, making traditional recipes, and building the Ve.

DSCF9102The county where I stayed is called Ignace, 4 km into the thick bush. I was encamped at some hunting ground, with a bleeding post set up for moose and deer carcasses. There had already been a lot of blood spilled on the grounds I chose, and I piled a small sand burial mound lined with rocks to symbolize the passage of life through site on that site. A banner of Shiva and Kali hung on a T cross, so I honored the Hindu parallels to the Heathen gods. A cattle skull for :FEHU: and a moose skull for the native species were adorned on the two trees, with several doe and buck skulls and antlers were formatted around.

I decided to partake of some marijuana before doing the rite as well. Because it is not a vice for me, I was saving it specifically for a special purpose. I felt on a high almost immediately, thulean and inspired. I began the ritual with :ALGIZ: meditation and galdr. I had drawn the rune of Algir some time before when my spiritually had been put on the backburner. The :ALGIZ: rune instilled a new passage for self-growth and released its answers to me at the fitting time. As I invoked the holy fires of Asgard and signed the Mjolnir through the night ether with my seax, my attention transformed from internal awareness to universal consciousness. Each stada performed like a bio-antenna finding it’s signal in the cardinal points, above and below. My flesh became a living rune, and a vessel to weave a work with the land wights. I did feel some powerful contact from the unknown presences in the forest and the unpolluted night sky. The ginger honey mead was offered and 2 droughts I drank from a wolf carven horn, gaining Wodanaz’ sacred wisdom and weal. A set of yellow tinged candles were melting away over the soil in the stave of Algiz. I had chosen the perfect time of night, during the dusk, and there I offered myself to myself in isolation and under the watchful eye of Odin. None disturbed me, and the weather favored me. I felt completely at one with everything around me and my sense became like super senses.  The entire rite lasted only as it needed, while I chanted and listened to the music of Wolfsblood. My heiti “Wolfshaman” Ulfur Tofralkaer, had been given to me once again and I took the name for the gild. I have only had few other moments when I felt so fully alive in my life. Every cell in my body was charged, all emotions had transcended the mundane, and all the energy of my being felt restored, renewed and rewilded. My oaths became bound to my kindred there, and grounded my presence within this great family.

I am currently studying the first aett of the Elder Futhark, and making my way through the Sagas, Eddas, and other curriculum literature of the gild. I have also started crafting my taufr for magical purposes and will be attending the Jule moot in January. The immense amount of personal insight, practical knowledge and relevant information I have gained from personal praxis, meditations and reading has been invaluable. My roots grow stronger, as my spirit attends the High Hall. Her ek em groa. I am here to grow.

3 thoughts on “Galdragildi self initiation rite

  1. Hail!

    I am a member of Operation Werewolf and looking for a way to study ruins more in depth than on my own and found this site. I was wondering if you know of any way to find a teacher. The only thing I can find is Rune Gild and I want something more real and intimate than that. I have been studying runes on my own but wish to find a school or group that can teach me the Tru way. My own studies do not complete my yearning for the knowledge of my ancestors. My blood cries for more.

    • I am unsure if the Galdragildi is still in existence, as this was some years ago I was a member. Now I am involved with the Rune Gild for just over 2 years, and am working through my journeyman work. I find the individuals in the Rune Gild to be high minded folk of the tradition and one can yield a mine of useful information by becoming involved in a traditional gild of sorts. If you are a member of Op. Werewolf, I am not sure what this actually entails of it’s users, but I know Paul is a talented and encouraging teacher by example, and if you are lower West Virginia, namely Lynchburg, you should seek out the :Ulfheim: property and the Wolves of Vinland and ask them to teach you. There is also Heimat Vinland, run by a friend of mine, Chase Sutherland, operating from Nova Scotia Canada, which you may already know. The greatest teacher are the runes themselves. When I started, I made physical runes from antler, and carried them everywhere on my travels. I learned how to use them, but finding out how to fail over and over, then started using them as tools, rather than simply divinatory markers or fetishistic items. The runes are inside you. I would recommend finding the cultures that grew from rune using societies and learning some of their language. I would rahter not recommend books if you are seeking intimate ways of knowledge gain. The most intimate approach you can take is through life experience. Dedicate your life to the Northern Gods, and they will help you with the work you need to do.

    • I am unsure if the Galdragildi is still in existence, as this was some years ago I was a member. Now I am involved with the Rune Gild for just over 2 years, and am working through my journeyman work. I find the individuals in the Rune Gild to be high minded folk of the tradition and one can yield a mine of useful information by becoming involved in a traditional gild of sorts. If you are a member of Op. Werewolf, I am not sure what this actually entails of it’s users, but I know Paul is a talented and encouraging teacher by example, and if you are lower West Virginia, namely Lynchburg, you should seek out the :Ulfheim: property and the Wolves of Vinland and ask them to teach you. There is also Heimat Vinland, run by a friend of mine, Chase Sutherland, operating from Nova Scotia Canada, which you may already know. The greatest teacher are the runes themselves. When I started, I made physical runes from antler, and carried them everywhere on my travels. I learned how to use them, but finding out how to fail over and over, then started using them as tools, rather than simply divinatory markers or fetishistic items. The runes are inside you. I would recommend finding the cultures that grew from rune using societies and learning some of their language. I would rahter not recommend books if you are seeking intimate ways of knowledge gain. The most intimate approach you can take is through life experience. Dedicate your life to the Northern Gods, and they will help you with the work you need to do.

      Venlig hilsener og Wassai!

Leave a Reply

